A Place Where Everybody Knows Your Name

I had a conversation with my friend Mike Sansone today and he told me about an interesting project of his. He’s working on a project called Dialing 8. He had spoken to me before about what it was but after our conversation today, I now think I really “get” it.

Picture it. You walk into your neighbourhood bar and sit at your favorite table. It’s a place you frequent almost everyday so you know most of the people there. As you sit down with your friends, order your favourite drink and start talking, you look over at another table and some of your other “cronies” are there, talking about something completely different. You’re interested in what they are saying so you listen, put in your two cents and then go back to your own conversation. When you have a question, you know that there will be someone close by who can help you because the bar is filled with other like-minded people, some with similar interests, some with complementary interests. The entire place is a wealth of knowledge, camaraderie and comfort.

After speaking with Mike, this is the mental picture I got of what he wants Dialing-8 to become. A virtual hangout filled with those who are well versed in social media, as well as those who need some guidance learning how to take their business from the offline world to the online arena. It can include tutorials, guidance, webinars and support. While I won’t go into all the details of the Dialing-8 project, the goal is to ensure that we can all stay strong and last long in social media. Social media is, after all, not a sprint but a marathon and while it’s easy to get caught up in initial dash, it’s those who can pace themselves that will demonstrate staying power.

After we ended our call, I started thinking about his idea. The more I thought about it, the more I decided that I like his vision. I really, really like it. As a social media consultant (or coach, as Mike would say) I’m on my own a great deal, working hard to help my clients, mostly small businesses, learn the ins and outs of social media. I love what I do but it can, at times, be isolating, working everyday as a Solopreneur. The idea of having a place to hang out with like-minded individuals, doing what I like to do best is very appealing. A place where I can go, where there will always be someone who “has my back” and a place where I can be available to help others.

Dialing-8 will launch on November 13 for a cost of $271 per year. If my math is correct (and you had better check it) it works out to 74 cents a day. If it is anything like I envision it will be, I know that it will be a wealth of knowledge, companionship and support. I encourage you to give it a try. I know I will.

3 responses to “A Place Where Everybody Knows Your Name

  1. Great article! And I agree, sometimes it feels like we’re all alone in managing this social media maze (sort of ironic, eh?). Look forward to seeing what the Dialing-8 is all about!

  2. Pingback: Social Media and Blogging Learning Curve

Leave a Reply

